logotext1 July 18 – 22, 2011, Vancouver, BC, Canada
Prize Speakers

The John von Neumann Lecture: Dr. Ingrid Daubechies, Duke University

Sparsity in Signal Analysis and in Computation, Monday, July 18, 19:00

Dr. Ingrid Daubechies joins the list of distinguished mathematicians who have delivered The John von Neumann Lecture over the 50 years that SIAM has awarded its flagship prize. The prize is awarded for outstanding and distinguished contributions to the field of applied mathematical sciences and for the effective communication of these ideas to the community.  The prize is intended to be awarded and the lecture given each year at the SIAM Annual Meeting.


AWM/SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture: Dr. Susanne C. Brenner, Louisiana State University

A Cautionary Tale in Numerical PDEs, Monday, July 18, 20:00

The Association for Women in Mathematics and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) established the Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture to highlight significant contributions of women to applied or computational mathematics.  This lecture is given each year at the SIAM Annual Meeting, but this year, it will be presented at ICIAM 2011.  It  was given for the first time on June 20, 2003 at the SIAM/CAIMS/SCMAI meeting in Montréal. Sonia Kovalevsky (1850-1891) received her Doctor of Philosophy degree summa cum laude from the University of Göttingen in 1874, the first woman to earn a Ph.D. in mathematics. In 1888, she was awarded the prestigious Prix Bordin from the French Academie des Sciences for one of her research papers. She is widely recognized for her groundbreaking work in analysis, differential equations, and mechanics.


2011 Olga Taussky-Todd Lecture: Dr. Beatrice Pelloni, University of Reading

Boundary Value Problems & Integrability, Tuesday, July 19, 20:00

The Olga Taussky-Todd Lecture is one of the invited lectures at the International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics, which is the pre-eminent international meeting of applied and industrial mathematicians, held every four years. This honour is conferred on a "woman who has made outstanding contributions in applied mathematics and/or scientic computation". The lecture is named in tribute to the memory of Olga Taussky-Todd, whose scientific legacy is in both theoretical and applied mathematics, and whose work exemplifies the qualities to be recognized.


Peter Henrici Prize: Dr. Bjorn Engquist, University of Texas at Austin

Fast Algorithms for High Frequency Wave Propagation, Wednesday, July 20, 19:00

The Peter Henrici Prize is awarded jointly by Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule-Zürich (ETH Zurich) and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) at the quadrennial ICIAM Congress.  The prize is awarded for original contributions to applied analysis and numerical analysis and/or for exposition appropriate for applied mathematics and scientific computing.  The prize is intended to recognize broad and extended contributions to these subjects, more than a single outstanding work.

CAIMS/PIMS Early Career Award in Applied Mathematics: Adam Oberman, Simon Fraser University

Discrete Geometric Game Interpretations of Nonlinear Elliptic Partial Differential Equations

Thursday July 21, 11:00

The prize is awarded to a researcher less than ten years past the date of Ph.D. at the time of nomination. The prize recognizes exceptional research in any branch of applied mathematics, interpreted broadly. The nominee's research should have been conducted primarily in Canada or in affiliation with a Canadian university. Citation: For outstanding research contributions in the analysis and numerical solution of nonlinear PDEs.

CAIMS-MITACS Industrial Mathematics Prize, Ian A. Frigaard, University of British Columbia

Math in the Mud

Thursday July 21, 15:00

The CAIMS-MITACS annual industrial mathematics prize is awarded to a researcher in recognition of exceptional research in any branch of industrial mathematics, interpreted broadly. The nominee's research should have been conducted primarily in Canada. This Prize would not only be a high honour to bestow upon an individual, but also an acknowledgment of industrial mathematics as a fundamental and vibrant discipline within the research culture of Canada. Citation: For distinguished contributions to the theory of dynamics of non-Newtonian fluids as well as industrial applications using mathematical modelling for oil well construction.

CAIMS*SCMAI Research Prize, Michael Ward, University of British Columbia

An Analysis of The Stability and Dynamics of Localized Spot and Stripe Patterns for the Gray-Scott Model

Thursday July 21, 16:00

The award has been established to recognize innovative and exceptional research contributions in an emerging area of applied or industrial mathematics. Citation:  For significant successful combination of singular perturbation techniques and numerical methods to analyze boundary-value problems arising in a wide range of applied fields.