logotext1 July 18 – 22, 2011, Vancouver, BC, Canada
Steering Committee

The Steering Committee will oversee all aspects of the planning and execution of the Congress in the preliminary stages.

The organizers of ICIAM 2011 are saddened by the passing of Prof. Jerrold Marsden, who lost his battle with cancer on September 21, 2010. As Co-Chair of the Scientific Program Committee for ICIAM 2011 and a member of the Steering Committee, Prof. Marsden’s influence and imprint is strongly felt in the structure and scientific content of the Congress. His enthusiasm and knowledge will be deeply missed by his colleagues at ICIAM 2011. More information about Prof. Marsden can be viewed here.

Congress President

Arvind Gupta, Scientific Director, Mitacs & Professor of Computer Science, University of British Columbia


  • Alejandro Adem, Director, PIMS & Professor, Mathematics, University of British Columbia
  • Jim Crowley, Vice-chair: Executive Director, SIAM
  • Ken Jackson Vice-chair: Member, CAIMS & Professor, Computer Science, University of Toronto
  • Bill Langford: Past president, CAIMS & Professor, Mathematics and Statistics, University of Guelph
  • Ivar Ekeland: Professor, Mathematics, University of British Columbia
  • Martin Golubitsky: Past president, SIAM & Director, Mathematical Biosciences Institute, Ohio State University
  • Barbara Keyfitz: Professor, Mathematics, Ohio State University
  • Rachel Kuske: Professor, Mathematics, University of British Columbia
  • Randall LeVeque: Professor, Applied Mathematics, University of Washington
  • Jerrold Marsden: Professor, Control and Dynamical Systems, California Institute of Technology (Deceased Sept 21, 2010)
  • Christianne Rousseau: Interim Director, Centre de recherches mathématiques & Professor, Université de Montréal
  • Bob Russell: Past President, CAIMS & Professor, Mathematics, Simon Fraser University
  • John Stockie: BC Regional Scientific Director, MITACS & Associate Professor, Mathematics, Simon Fraser University